Commonwealth Plaque Trust

In 2018 The British Plaque Trust has taken the historic and innovative step of taking the blue plaque scheme into the Commonwealth, to demonstrate inclusivity and solidarity. The Commonwealth comprises fifty-three diverse countries, across Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe and the Pacific. They include some of the world’s largest, smallest, richest and poorest countries, with … More Commonwealth Plaque Trust

Our plaques include: Abba, Bamboo Club Bristol, Syd Barrett, Francis Barraud, Acker Bilk, Alfie Boe, John Bonham, David Bowie, Rupert Brooke, Kevin Coyne, Corn Exchange Bedford, Chipping Norton Studios, William Davison, Sandy Denny, Delia Derbyshire, Nick Drake, John Entwistle, Eric’s, Factory Records, Kathleen Ferrier, Football Association, Emile Ford, Gliderdrome Boston, The Globe Stockton/Bruce Welch and Brian Bennett, Grimethorpe Colliery Band, Buddy Holly, Jimmy Kennedy, Ian ‘Lemmy’ Kilmister, John Lennon & Paul McCartney, John Fry Lobb, Jerry Lordan, Magic Circle, Sir Neville Marriner, Steve Marriott, Mayfair Newcastle, Norwich Arts Centre, Christopher Merritt, Angela Morley, Norwood Jewish Orphanage, Rick Parfitt, John Peel, Eric Pinkett, Domenico Eusanio Santangelo, Constance Shacklock, The Shed Brawby, Sidmouth Folk Festival, Spiders From Mars, The Stables/Johnny Dankworth, Tin Pan Alley, Arthur Troop, Watford Colosseum, Brenda Wootton and through BBC’s Asian Network, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, Saifullah Zaman and Haroon Shamsher. Plaques for 2018 include Buddy Holly and Cecil Sharp and the first plaques for the Commonwealth as the Commonwealth Plaque Trust.